Day 5: Am I already addicted to my blog?

I’m sure it is possible to get addicted, or obsessed with blog writing. Is that a good thing or a bad thing?! Well, I know that whenever I travel alone, I do religiously write a journal, and if I miss a day, I must catch up. I’ve often wondered why I write and who I am writing for, and have come to the conclusion that it’s just because I like writing. I’ve mentioned before that I much prefer writing to talking, and on paper or screen, I can write at my own speed, I can pause, edit and even delete everything – which is much harder to do when talking! So, even though this is my first attempt at blogging, I am already enjoying the freedom. But to think that you are actually reading this, well, I had better try and write something a little more interesting, me thinks!

I think people naturally enjoy learning, maybe not if it is forced upon them at school in a manner and subject in which they have no interest, but if you gain new knowledge, I believe it empowers you. Who was it that once said, “The more I learn, the less I realise I know,” or something like that? How true. And how ignorant do I often feel like in my reading last night about the history of English when I discovered that French used to be spoken as much as English in England. It’s a shame that we kicked it back across the channel if you ask me. I’ve always envied bi- and poly-lingual people. Ideally, I would’ve been brought up in more than one language, but alas, who am I to determine my past! So you would think that would make my a good language learner with my desire for language, but again, no, I have to always preach to my students to ‘Do as I say, not as I do’ when it comes to language learning. I just hope that I am a much better teacher than student! And what does make a good teacher? Let me know please so I can continue to improve!

 

コメントを残す

