Words and sounds

So, in my first post I said that there were 600,000 words in the English language (about 200,000 in common use), and I asked about the number of Japanese words. Well, my researchers did their job wonderfully and came back with the answer 200,000. Also, they told me that Japan has five times as many onomatopoeia compared to English. That I am not surprised at! I love Japanese ‘sound’ words and had a look for some. Apparently there are even gradations of cruchiness: bari bari = crunch, as in eating. “Pori pori is the quietest crunching. Pori pori is for cookies; bari bari is for chips. Kori kori is for broccoli and asparagus.” (from http://www.baka-tsuki.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2485 where there are hundreds more!) To me it seems like you can just take any 2 syllables and repeat them and voila, you have yourself an onomatopoeia! I wonder what hana hana could mean?!

 

Words and sounds」への1件のフィードバック

  1. Hi! “Hana hana” is used for making a toast in Okinawa, I heard it when iI drank with Okinawa people. If I have a chance of drinking with Hannah, I’d like to say “Hana hana” or “Hannah hannah”!!?!!! Maybe, at NELSE’s christmas party!

コメントを残す

