Cake!…and easy English!

I had a lovely surprise today when I was given a piece of cake. It may sound frivolous to write about, but it looked so ornate…and tasted even better!

Image

(No, I didn’t eat both slices, although the one slice I did eat was my lunch!)

Now, I’m sure you know the expression, ‘It’s a piece of cake,’ meaning, ‘It’s very easy’, but do you know where the phrase comes from? No? Neither did I until I did a little research. Apparently…

‘…the idea of cake being “easy” originated in the 1870’s when cakes were given out as prizes for winning competitions. In particular, there was a tradition in the US slavery states where slaves would circle around a cake at a gathering. The most “graceful” pair would win the cake the in middle.’ (from http://www.pages.drexel.edu/~zk32/clicheorigin.html)

So there you go! Now you know!

 

 

 

Cake!…and easy English!」への3件のフィードバック

  1. Hi! “It’s a piece of cake” comes from U.S. slavery history. I didn’t know it. By the way,I heard that not christmas cakes like Japan, christmas cookies are eaten in U.S. at christmas. how about in England?

  2. You’re right, Yuria. Christmas cakes in the UK are very different from Japanese Christmas cakes, and in the UK we don’t have Christmas cookies, but instead we eat mince pies and Christmas pudding! Yummy!
    Have a look at these pictures:
    https://www.google.com/search?q=British+Christmas+food+image&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-GB:official&client=firefox-a

    • Thanks! I looked many great christmas meals! Especially, I want to eat Parsnips and Swede, Brussels sprouts and chestnuts, Pigs in a Blanket and CHRISTMAS PUDDING!!!! CHRISTMAS PUDDING would be so delicious! It is with Brandy!!!!!! UUUUmmmm, I want to eat it!!!!!!

コメントを残す

