Tongue twisters!

Tongue twisters are a superb way to practice pronunciation, especially of tricky sounds.

Why not have a go at these. Try saying the short ones five times in a row.

TONGUE TWISTERS

 1. Peter Piper picked a peck of pickled peppers.
     If Peter Piper picked a peck of pickled peppers,
    Where’s the peck of pickled peppers Peter Piper picked?

2.  Girl gargoyle, guy gargoyle.

3. How much wood would a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood?

4. Round and round the rugged rock the ragged rascal ran.

5.  A skunk sat on a stump and thought the stump stunk,
     but the stump thought the skunk stunk.
 
6.  A tooter who taught on the flute
    Tried to tutor two tooters to toot
    Said the two to the tutor
    Is it harder to toot or
    To tutor two tutors to toot?

7.  I’m not a pheasant plucker
    I’m a pheasant plucker’s son
    I’m only plucking pheasants ‘til the pheasant plucker comes.

8. Fuzzy Wuzzy was a bear. Fuzzy Wuzzy had no hair. Fuzzy Wuzzy wasn’t very fuzzy, was he?

9. She sells seashells by the seashore. The shells she sells are surely seashells. So if she sells shells on the seashore, I’m sure she sells seashore shells.

10. Betty Botter bought some butter but, she said, the butter’s bitter. If I put it in my batter, it will make my batter bitter. But a bit of better butter will make my bitter batter better. So she bought some better butter, better than the bitter butter, put it in her bitter batter, made her bitter batter better. So ‘twas better Betty Botter bought some better butter.

11. Rubber baby buggy bumpers.

12. Red rubber baby buggy bumpers bounce.

13. The instinct of an extinct insect stinks.

14. Three free throws.

15. Bad money mad bunny.

16. Toy boat.

17. Selfish shellfish.

18. Irish wristwatch.

19. Red leather, yellow leather.

20. Ed had edited it.

21. Greek grapes.

22. Truly rural.

23. Chop shops stock chops.

24. Are our oars oak?

25. Which witch wished which wicked wish?

26. I slit the sheet, the sheet I slit: and on the slitted sheet I sit.

27. The sixth sick sheikh’s sixth sheep’s sick. (This is the hardest tongue-twister in the English language, according to Guinness World Records!)

Tongue twisters!」への2件のフィードバック

  1. Blimey! I tried them. But I couldn’t speak them clearly. Especially, 6, 9, 24 and 27 were so hard to speak! I’ll keep on practicing until I can pronounce them clearly and rhythmically.

コメントを残す

