My student’s poetry

Recently, one of my students showed me a poem she had written in English. I was so moved by it that I asked her if I could post it on my blog. She said, ‘yes’ and also sent me another poem. I’m really happy to be able to share her work, so I’ll let her words say the rest.

First is love.
I love you. I can’t lose you.
First snow is kind. First changing color of leaf making passionate orange. First rainbow is with hard tears. First cherry blossoms flowers are beautiful limited now.
Nature teach beauty and life love of shape.
First is all.
First is like a love.
I can’t lose first.
Pink cloud
Today before sunset I find and see pink cloud.
So that moment I remember when I was a junior high school student, I drew pink color cloud at subject of art lesson.Teacher said your clouds color is dreamy.
But I notice this color is not dream.Pink color cloud is real thing not dreaming thing.
Maybe sometimes you think your pink cloud is only image and dream,not real.
You can’t realize and find your drawing thing at that moment and to exist here.
However there are surely real thing here.
Not only can draw but also can see.
Pink cloud is real thing for everyone.
All dreamy things to exist exactly here.
by Tomoko Y.

Thank you, Tomoko.

Have you ever tried writing poetry in another language? Although my foreign language skills are quite poor, I have written poems in Japanese and Spanish (although, not good enough to share, sorry!) I think that it can be a liberating experience to write in another language, where you may be able to express yourself more freely than you can in your own language. Poetry can break language rules far more easily than other types of English, so even if your English level is not so high, you CAN write poetry. Have you tried? If not, why not give it a go. If you have, would you like to share it? I’d love to read it.

My student’s poetry」への3件のフィードバック

  1. Blimey! It’s a beautiful poetry! I’ll try to write some,too, after I go skiing for the first time this year!

コメントを残す

