In or on? In time or on time?

You might think that two little words with only two letters would be quite easy to use, right? But I know that actually, ‘in’ and ‘on’ can be a bit confusing, so I’d like to share with you some helpful rules.

You may be tested on this in TOEIC Reading Part 5, or Eiken but just knowing how to use the words correctly for general conversation will really help you sound more like a natural English speaker.

Find out about ‘on’ and ‘in’ here.

And once you’ve mastered that, maybe you’d like to understand a little better about the difference between ‘in time’ and ‘on time’. Find out more here.

Then, why not write your own example sentences using the rules you’ve just learnt?

 

 

In or on? In time or on time?」への2件のフィードバック

  1. Thanks for teaching us about the use for ” IN & ON ” and ” IN TIME & ON TIME ” .
    I’ll write the sentences using them.

    I was headed for my friend’s birthday party IN the taxi.
    I suddenly felt a little pain IN my back at that moment.
    I remembered that I did exercise hard last night for my diet .
    That’s why I felt the pain.
    IN the taxi, my mother’s word was still ON MY MIND.
    She said that I should be ALWAYS ON TIME.
    I know it’s right , but I can’t sometimes do so, her word bothered me a bit.
    IN the middle of the way to the party, I got stuck IN traffic and I was worried if I could arrive at the restaurant ON TIME or not.
    Finally, we got rid of the traffic and I got there JUST IN THE NICK OF TIME. Oh, dear!

    If you have time, could you please tell us a good website for understanding ” the difference between AMONG and BETWEEN “?
    I’m often confused how to use them.
    ” Amon us ” means that ” me and people more than 2 ” ?
    ” Between us ” means that “you and one person ” ?

    It’s really confusing.

    Thanks,

コメントを残す

