Why learning English is good for your brain

So if your first language is not English and you are reading this, then I have good news for you – your brain may be ageing slower than if you were reading this in your mother tongue. Why? Well, take a look at this report from the BBC which claims that those people who learn a foreign language may be more intelligent and also better readers than those who only speak one language.

If you can read and understand the article, well done – your English is not only very good, but you are actual proof that you are both intelligent and good at reading!

Being able to understand texts like this is necessary for Eiken and TOEFL. Click on the links to find out more about NELS courses.

Why learning English is good for your brain」への4件のフィードバック

  1. It’s such a interesting story!
    Learning a second language can have a positive effect on the brain EVEN IF IT’S TAKEN UP IN ADULTHOOD !
    I didn’t know that.
    And also learning the second language can make the onset of dementia delay! WOW!
    I also read 2 articles of ” Bilingualism ‘ enrich the brain ‘ ” and ” A second language may delay dementia ” below the screen.
    They say that people who speak 2 or more languages have superior abilities in attention, focus, etc. compared to monolinguals.
    They also say it is similar to musicians.
    Bilingual or multilingual brain switching between different sounds , words, etc is likely to be more effective than any artificial brain training such as crossword puzzles.
    You’re monolingual and Yoko is bilingual , both of you are superb!!!
    So I need to learn English more!

  2. Thanks, Yuria. Yes, apparently learning A second language can DELAY the onset of dementia.
    (I do try NOT to be monolingual though!;-))

  3. OH,NO! I’m So Sorry! I made a mistake that I wrote the wrong sentence!
    You’re DEFINITELY NOT monolingual , YOU’RE MULTILINGUAL!
    Why did I make the mistake?
    I’ve already know that you speak Spanish, French,Japanese, etc. other than English. I’m so sorry.

  4. Haha. ;-))) No, I think I probably am monolingual actually, Yuria! No problem. 😀

コメントを残す

